Avery wins Coastal Run - last year’s disappointment is forgotten

Well done to the 997 runners who finished the 2015 Northumberland Coastal Run on Sunday, a big increase on the number of finishers compared to recent years!

By Keith Hamblin
Wednesday, 22nd July 2015, 2:30 pm

Also well done to the superb marshals for turning out on the day to help, as well as helping out at registration on Saturday.

Organisers have received some brilliant comments about both the marshals and the all round organisation of the event, one which gets more and more popular each year.

Particular thanks go to committee members Sue Bolam, Tracey Sample and the man in charge on the day Jim Lillico. Finally thanks to the companies and organisations who have helped out this year including Alnmouth Golf Club, Alnmouth Football Club, Motorcare of Alnwick, Hipsburn First School, Rothbury Motors, ResultsBase, the National Trust, Beadnell Boat Club and main sponsor Eclipse Translations.

Sign up to our daily Berwickshire News Today newsletter

Many congratulations to the winners of the race Carl Avery and Emma Holt, both of Morpeth Harriers.

For Carl this was a great moment as he was demoted from first place last year due to a mix-up with his entry. This year, however, he finished well clear of his nearest rival posting a brilliant 1.15.42, the fastest time at the race since 2009.

In the mens race, second place went to last year’s victor Kevin Jeffress of Sunderland Harriers, whilst Tyne Bridge Harrier Tom Charlton was third. In a high class field previous winners Ian Harding and Darren Purvis were in the top 10.

Age category winners were Alnwick Harrier Clive Kennedy-Burn (40), Jason Old of Elswick Harriers (45), Richard Pattinson of Horsforth Harriers (50), Steve Raby also of Horsforth (55), David Nightingale of Gala Harriers (60), Harry Matthews of Heaton Harriers (65) and Derek Poole of Holme Pierrepoint (70). The Morpeth trio of Carl, Ian Harding and Paul Waterston also won the team prize.

In the womens race, Emma Holt was almost two minutes clear of her nearest rival, previous winner Amy Green of Keighley and Craven AC, whilst third place went to South Shields Harrier Georgia Campbell. Age category prizes went to Elvet Strider Elaine Bisson (35), Louise Rogers of Tyne Bridge Harriers (40), Andrea Banner of Elswick Harriers (45), Christine Heaton of Holme Pierrepoint (50), Maggie Loraine of Gateshead Harriers (55), Mary Rees of Wallsend Harriers (60), Susan Baylis of Ponteland Runners (65) and Sandra Poole also of Holme Pierrepoint (70)! Once again Morpeth took home the team prize thanks to Emma, Joanne Carruthers and Jane Briggs.

Well done to the Alnwick Harriers who were first to complete the 14-mile multi terrain route from Beadnell to Alnmouth, thus winning the club’s first male and female trophies, by south coast based Harrier Clive Kennedy-Burn and Karen Kelly.