Borders drivers compete in Jack Frost Stages

SEVERAL Borders rally crews made the trip to Croft Circuit near Darlington in the recent wintry weather conditions for the aptly named Cartersport Jack Frost Stages.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 27th January 2010, 10:36 am
Updated Wednesday, 27th January 2010, 10:37 am

The event, organised by Darlington and District Motor Club was the opening qualifying round of this year's Borders Stage Rally Championship as well as the the North of England Rally Championship, S.G. Petch ANECCC Stage Rally Championship and the ANCC Stage Rally Championship.

Highest placed Borders crew were Gareth White of St Boswells and his Lauder co-driver Callum Atkinson.

They took their Citroen C2R2 to an excellent 14th overall and fourth in class.

Sign up to our daily Berwickshire News Today newsletter

The St Boswells crew of Ross Hunter and Eildon Hall finished a creditable 23rd in their new Honda Civic while Kelso's Kev Dunn, co-driven by Fiona Douglas, finished 28th in their Subaru Impreza.

The all-Hawick crew of Gavin Lloyd and Martin Glendinning were 42nd overall in their Vauxhall Nova while Leitholm's Keith Renton, co-driven by Adam Turnbull from Duns finished 51st in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9.

In 58th place were the Berwick crew of Jeff and Graham Malthouse in their Peugeot 205 GTi, one place ahead of St Boswells driver Sarah Hunter and her Melrose co-driver Gary White in a similar car.

Berwickshire's Carin Logan and co-driver Christine Sanderson from Berwick were 60th overall in their Citroen Saxo VTR.

Among the non-finishers were Richard Clark from Spadeadam, co-driven by Fiona Gourlay of Duns. They retired their Subaru Impreza with engine failure on the seventh stage.

The rally was won by Paul Bird and Kirsty Riddick in a Ford Focus ahead of Cumbrians Richard and Edwin Cook in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 and Chris Wise and Tracey Taylor-West in an MG Metro 6R4.