Moore retains Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk seat

LIB Dem Michael Moore has retained the Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk seat.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 7th May 2010, 9:15 am
Updated Friday, 7th May 2010, 12:10 pm

He claimed 22,230 votes, John Lamont (Conservative) 16,555, Ian Miller (Labour) 5,003, Paul Wheelhouse (SNP) 4,497, Sherry Fowler (UKIP) 595 and Chris Black (Scottish Jacobite Party) 134.

The Lib Dem majority fell from 5,901 in 2005 to 5,675. The turnout was 66.5 per cent.

Mr Moore said in front of a packed Eildon Mill in Tweedbank: "The last couple of years have been very difficult for people throughout the Borders and the country.

Sign up to our daily Berwickshire News Today newsletter

"This election has challenged politicians of all parties. But all the candidates in this constituency have been encouraged by the level of interest in the Borders for this election and the record number of hustings held."

Mr Moore added that his key priorities for the Borders would be protection of jobs and rural services.

He added: "It is a fantastic honour to represent this beautiful area again. I am thrilled."

A disappointed Mr Lamont, who had been strongly supported by Conservative chiefs in one of their main target seats in Scotland, thanked the 16,555 people who voted for him.

Ian Miller pleaded for Labour supporters to turn out in the upcoming Scottish Elections, expected to take place next year.

Mr Wheelhouse praised Mr Moore for a "fantastic campaign" but warned that the Borders faced some major challenges in its economy and society.

Meanwhile, Sherry Fowler said she would be celebrating the end of the election campaign with a bottle of wine.

Returning Officer David Hume said there were 75 staff who successfully worked at Tweedbank to help provide the result ahead of the expected time of 4am.

He added: "Everything went smoothly. We try to make the process as transparent as possible and I believe we achieved that."