Gala take first Kings win

Gala lifted the first title of the AM.PM Event Catering Kings of the Sevens series with victory over Jed-Forest at their home event.

By Fiona Scott
Monday, 6th April 2015, 8:06 am

The hosts made it through to the semi-finals of the Five Star Taxis Gala Sevens with wins over Kelso (40-0) and Peebles (40-7) before putting Selkirk to the sword (40-17) in their penultimate game.

Jed’s run to the finals was equally smooth. Melrose (27-14) and Watsonians (24-0) were the victims in the pool stage with Boroughmuir (34-14) being the prey in the semi-finals.

The hosts got off on the wrong foot in the final when star scorer Craig Robertson was sin binned for a deliberate knock on in the second minute.but Jed failed to capitalise in the two minute period that Gala were down to six men.

Sign up to our daily Berwickshire News Today newsletter

The Riverside outfit did eventually get their first points on the board when Lewis Young strode over the Gala line but the hosts struck straight back with a try from Grayson Hart converted by David O’Hagan.

With the scores all level at 7 each at the break the second half promised some excitement which it proceeded to deliver.

Gregor Young was first to have the crowd cheering when running the length of the pitch to score with brother Lewis converting from the touchline before Chris Auld run in at the posts and O’Hagan again levelling the scores.

Michael Weekeley was next in for Jed but once again Gala responded immediately with Ruaridh Howarth going in for the try. O’Hagan’s conversion put the hosts ahead of the first time in the match and two minutes later the large support errupted into a cacophony of sound as O’Hagan converted a second Howarth try right on full time to take the first sevens title of the series.

Melrose won the Plate while Watsonians won the Bowl.

Gala: A. Emond, G. Graham, F. Hunter, G. Hart, R. Howarth, C. Auld, J. Parker, G. Young, C. Robertson, D. O’Hagan.

Jed-Forest: D. Gillespie, D. Grieve, S. Ainslie, M. Weekley, L. Young, G. Young, R. Shirra-Gibb, C. Gillon, F. Harkness, M. Mitchell.


Pool One: Edinburgh Accies 10 Stewart’s Melville 12; Edinburgh Accies 12 Selkirk 29; Stewart’s Melville 7 Selkirk 34.

Pool Two: Gala 40 Kelso 0; Gala 40 Peebles 7; Kelso 10 Peebles 19.

Pool Three: Melrose 5 Watsonians 19; Melrose 14 Jed-Forest 27; Watsonians 0 Jed-Forest 24.

Pool Four: Hawick 33 Currie 19; Hawick 17 Boroughmuir 19; Currie 12 Boroughmuir 24.

Semi-Finals: Selkirk 17 Gala 40; Jed-Forest 34 Boroughmuir 14.

Final: Gala 28 Jed-Forest 19