Border Counties Rally preview

Jock Armstrong'Pic credit LindsayPhotoSport
Jock Armstrong'Pic credit LindsayPhotoSport

Rally crews gather in Jedburgh this weekend the Border Counties Rally, round two of the ARR Craib Scottish Rally Championship.

There are big changes to this year’s event which is organised by Hawick and Border Car Club as the route will incorporate forest stages north of the border that have not been used for a number of years including the famous Cardrona, Elibank and Yair in the Tweed Valley.

After victory on the Snowman Rally Jock Armstrong (Castle Douglas) with Paula Swinscoe (Chorley) on the notes will be aiming to increase their championship lead but, after suffering a clutch problem on the Snowman, David Bogie (Dumfries) co-driven by Kevin Rae (Hawick) will be going flat out for a podium finish in their Ford Fiesta R5+.

Currently lying second in the championship, Bruce McCombie (Banchory) will be hoping for a similar drive as he did on the Snowman in his Mitsubishi Evo.

Another top runner is Mike Faulkner (Aspatria) co-driven Peter Foy (Bingley) in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 is third in the points.

After a canny drive in their home event with a fourth place, Inverness crew Donnie Macdonald and Andrew Falconer will be wanting to increase their championship points on the Counties.

There will be a strong representation from the Borders and the north of England with entries from former event sponsor John McClory and David Hood on the notes in a Mitsubishi EVO 9 and also Stephen Petch (Durham) with co-driver Jack Morton in a Ford Fiesta R5+.

Other Borders crews entered include: Steve Bannister and Louise Rae (Ford Escort Mk 2), Ian Baumgart and Paul Hughes (Subaru Impreza), Garry Wilson and Scott Young (Mitsubishi Evo 5), Ian Watson and Mike Dickson (Ford Escort Mk 2), Sean and Ian Robson (Ford Fiesta ST), Des Campbell and Haree Marchbank (Peugeot 206), Nigel and Keith Atkinson (Mitsubishi Evo 9), Gordon Murray and Dave O’Brien (Ford Escort Mk 2), David and Scott Hunter (Peugeot 205 GTi).

On Saturday morning the first competitor will start from Jedburgh Town Hall at 8.31am. The competitors will return for a re-group at approximately 10.30am and the first competitor is expected to finish the event at 3.30pm.

Spectator information is available on the event’s website -