Weston wins Granite City rally

Garry Wilson who finished 31st overall on the Granite City Rally at the weekend.
Garry Wilson who finished 31st overall on the Granite City Rally at the weekend.

Aberdeen driver David Weston, with 2014 Scottish champion co-driver Paul Beaton from Inverness on the notes, won Saturday’s Coltel Granite City Rally.

The rally was the third round of the 2015 ARR CRAIB Scottish Rally Championship and there could not have been a closer finish with Weston and Beaton (Euan Thorburn’s regular co-driver) and Dumfries driver David Bogie and Hawick co-driver Kevin Rae tied on total time after the eight special stages.

Weston and Beaton were given the victory by virtue of being fastest over the final stage which was designated as the tie decider.

After the two super special stages at the AECC Aberdeen where Weston was fastest on the second run in his Sunbaru Impreza, Bogie came into play in his Ford Fiesta R5 + when the rally entered Fetteresso forest with both drivers taking the same time.

Bogie was fastest through Durris which was 4.68 miles and also the fourth special stage, the 7.25 mile Drumelzie, with Weston second and Jock Armstrong (Castle Douglas) third.

When Bogie and Weston had come out of SS6 (Drumtochty), Bogie had only a one second lead on Weston who was fastest through the stage. After special stage 7 Bogie had increased his advantage to four seconds over Weston so all was to play for on the final stage, the 10.59 mile, quite technical, Swanley stage. Weston and Beaton stormed through this one beating Bogie and Rae by four seconds. This meant both drivers were tied but with the final stage the tie decider, Weston and Beaton were given the nod and victory overall. Bogie and Rae were second with Jock Armstrong and Paula Swinscoe third.

In the two wheel drive class Malton’s Steve Bannister with Hawick’s Louise Rae on the notes finished 12th overall and first in class 6 in a Ford Escort MK2.

Hawick’s Ian Baumgart, co-driven by Mike Dickson from Gala, finished 17th overall in their Subaru Impreza while Scott Macbeth (Rosemarkie) and Callum Atkinson (Lauder) finished 20th overall and first in class 4 in their Vauxhall Nova.

The Duns crew of Gary Wilson and Scott Young finished 31st overall in their Mitsubishi Evo 5 while Alnwick’s Carl and Rob Tuer in a Ford Fiesta R200 were 34th and third in class.

Douglas Cameron (Dumbarton) and Jedburgh co-driver Paul Wood were 60th overall in their Peugeot 205 GTi.

Among the non-finishers were Gordon Murray (Perth) and Dave O’Brien (Duns) who put their Ford Escort Mk 2 off the road on stage five.