Smith storms to Wheelers’ Handicap League title

Berwick Wheelers time trial from Hutton'Joyce Mark
Berwick Wheelers time trial from Hutton'Joyce Mark
Share this article

Gary Smith produced a storming ride to beat his closest rival Andrew Beeke in the last round of the handicap time trial league.

Gary’s ride of 25.30 was enough to take nine points on the night and with Andrew failing to improve on his best six scores Gary’s 52.5 point total was enough by just 2.5 points to Andrews 50.

Joyce Mark continued her good form, ahead of the world triathlon championships in Canada, for seven points which saw her win the ladies section with 31 points from Wanda Field on 23.5.

Dom Blythe had the ride of the night to take his first time trial league win for 10 points in 25.38.

Steve Rowley had the quickest time with a 24.41 beating Adam Fletcher by just one second, Adams ride also placed him third overall in the final league table.

Chris Isats produced his fastest ever time over 50 miles on Saturday. Riding in the Ferryhill Wheelers’ event on the A19 in County Durham, Chris posted a 1 hour 44 minute effort which not only won the event and broke his own club record by nearly two minutes set in 2010, it also broke the course record as well.

On the same day Andrew Scorey and Neil Wilson took part in the Sunderland Clarion criteriums near Washington. On a thoroughly grotty day Neil, riding in the supporting race, was well placed in the bunch until he was forced to retire at about half distance suffering with Asthma problems. Andrew fared better in the conditions and took an excellent 7th place in the main race, in which a large number of elite and first category riders also took part.

Michelle Highfield and Neil Cruickshanks took part in the Ken Laidlaw sportive on Sunday, starting from Hawick and covering 105 very hilly miles. Both completed the distance with respectable times.

Finally, founding club member Ian Wighman took part in the ‘two bridges six provinces’ cycle challenge also on the Sunday, a forty mile challenge based around the Firth of Forth in aid of Prostatescotland.

Club time trial results, 10 miles: Steven Rowley 24’ 41”, Adam Fletcher 24’ 42”, Graham Simpson 24’ 49”, Gary Smith 25’ 30”, Doug Slater 25’ 36”, Domonic Blythe 25’ 38”, Joyce Mark (Lady) 25’ 43”, Andrew Beeke 25’ 46”, George & Samuel Johnston (Tandem) 25’ 49”, Neil Wilson 26’ 14”, Pete Blythe 26’ 40”, Neil Cruickshanks 27’ 46”, Wanda Field (Lady) 28’ 34”, Michelle Highfield (Lady) 31’ 54.