Simpson sets pace in cycling time trial

Berwick Wheelers time trial from Hutton'Joyce Mark
Berwick Wheelers time trial from Hutton'Joyce Mark
Share this article

Last Thursday’s time trial took place once again in unfavourable conditions. Rain and a blusterly south westerly breeze made for a tough five miles to the turn and slower times on the night reflected this.

The event was switched to the Fishwick course due to hedgecutting on the Pistols course; ironically Neil Wilson was still unlucky enough to puncture and had to retire.

Fastest on the night Graham Simpson in 24.44, took 10 points in the league, with Adam Fletcher and Andrew Beeke posting times of 25:26 (six points) and 25:27 (seven points) respectively.

Gary Smith took eight points with a time of 25:50 to keep him at the top of the points league.

Fastest lady was JoyceMark in 27:07 (three points).

In the points league, with two rounds left, only 2.5 points separate Gary Smith (49.5 pts) and Andrew Beeke (47pts). It promises to be an exciting end to the season with only the best six results from eight rounds being considered.

Highest placed ladiesin the league are Wanda Field on 22 points, and Gill Caine on 18 points.

Two Wheelers travelled to Cumbria at theweekend. Saturday saw Doug Slater, who is in brilliant form, at Levens 10 mile time trial where he rode an excellent 21:23 and a PB in atrocious wet and thundery conditions. Pretty good considering he didn’t warm up properly!

Chris Isats rode in the National 25 mile TT Championship near Keswick on Sunday. A time of 52:53 put him in 35thin a field of 117riders and was good enough beat the BW veterans 25 mile record of 53.38 set by Harry Armstrong – this coming only a week after beating the 10 mile course record by 2 seconds.

A week after completing the half iron man distance in the Castles triathlon at Bamburgh, all-rounder Adam Fletcher took part in the Powburn Show Fell Race. A 3.8 mile, out and back run, where he came a respectable sixth in a field of 39 runners.

This week’s time trial sees the last 15 mile event of the season. Meet as usual at the Hutton crossroads 6.30pm for a 7pm start.

Results: G Simpson 24.44 (nett 21.08 ), A Fletcher 25.26 (21.46), A Beeke 25.27 (21.35), G Smith 25.50 (21.21), J Blythe 26.56 (21.09), J Mark L 27.07 (22.02), P Blythe 27.24 (21.58), B Scorey 28.17 (21.59), N Cruikshanks 28.22 (22.26), W Field L 28.42 (22.16), G Caine L 28.51 (22.32), A Kerr L 31.46 (23.59), M Highfield L 31.50 (23.30), N Wilson - DNF (Puncture).