Round the golf courses

editorial image

A look at the weekly results from local clubs.

NN League

The North Northumberland Golf League teed off for the new season last week.

This year there are three equal divisions, each comprising of six teams, with clubs playing each other on a home and away basis.

Results from the opening week were: Division 1 - MFGC A 6, Berwick A 6; Alnwick 7, Bamburgh 5; Alnmouth A 12, Alnmouth B 0.

Division 2 - Rothbury 8, Burgham Park 4; Dunstanburgh A 12, Warkworth 0; Seahouses 6, Alnmouth Village 6.

Division 3 - Wooler 10, Dunstanburgh B 2; Percy wood 8, MFGC B 4; Longhirst 10, Linden Hall 2.


The annual Mark Pagan Memorial Trophy, a competition open to members from all of the local clubs, was won by popular artist Peter Gautry who brushed aside the competition with 39 points on countback from second and third placed Ivan Martin and Ivan Goodwin, also on 39 points.

Lynch Staunton (May) results were: Div 1. Peter Thompson 41 points, 2nd James Patterson 40 points, 3rd Alan Stevenson 40 points. Div 2. John Wood, 2nd Guy Borthwick 36 points and 3rd Kevin Elliott 35 points.

The Ladies’ (May) Stableford Competition was won by Susan Marshall with 29 points. 2nd Muriel Nesbit 28 points and 3rd Philippa Dunn 25 points.

EGGS (Elderly Gentlemen’s Golf Society) Comp 1. Dick Patterson 39 points, 2nd Peter Edgar 38 points and 3rd Stephen Taylor 35 points.

This coming Sunday (May 17) is the Ford Trophy – Club Championship Qualifier No.2. The Ladies Medal will be held over two days May 17/18.


Magdalene Fields

The fourth round of Friday’s 12 hole SWP Eclectic was won by Michael Moss 53-9-44 (BB9), second was Barrie Smith 57-13-44 and third went to Conrad McAskill 54-6-48. The gross prize went to Scott Eddington.

Saturday’s Medal Eclectic went to David McAskill 74-5-69 (BB9), runner up was Stuart Mitchell 85-16-69 and Shane Armstrong took third spot 82-11-71, Neil McLachlan took the gross prize.

The Father McHugh Invitation Pairs took place on Sunday, the winners were O Adamson & S Rodgerson with a 63, second with 65 and a better back nine were I Wakenshaw & G Tweddle and third went to G Cumming & G Cargill. Beat gross score went to L Young & M Eden.

In the ladies section, Saturday’s EWGA Medal was won by Carol Aitchison with Edna Trotter the runner-up.

On Sunday Carol kept up her good form by taking the honours in the first round of the Tait Sports Cup with 32 points just pipping Elaine Sharp on a better back nine.

This weekend sees the qualifying round for The Officers Cup take place on Sunday.


The first Club Championship was held on Sunday and the winner was Ryan Carr on 84-17-67 ahead of Paul Routledge 74-7-67 on a better back nine.

Could any golfer wishing to take part in the Captain’s Challenge on Saturday, June 6 please sign up on the form in the clubhouse.