Robertson aiming to wrap up Group N

DFale Robertson at Merrick
DFale Robertson at Merrick

With the overall title in the 2014 ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship already decided, the focus this Sunday will be on the fight for the remaining podium places.

Sunday’s final round, the Armstrong Galloway Hills Rally, will see six-times event winner Jock Armstrong again lock horns with Mike Faulkner after a season-long tussle, while multiple champion David Bogie will be fine-tuning his car ahead of next month’s Wales Rally GB.

Both Armstrong and Faulkner go into the “Hills” on equal points in the drivers’ and co-drivers’ standings, with the placings decided on the best six rounds from eight.

Fraser Wilson, co-driven by Jane Nicol from Duns, only has to cross the start line on the Galloway Hills to secure the Class 10 championship in his EVO 9, and he will be looking to take the fight to Borderer Dale Robertson for Group N honours.

The Duns driver, with Paul McGuire of Tranent on the notes, has had a strong second half to his season with three successive class victories in his EVO.

Ian Baumgart from Hawick, with Dave O’Brien of Duns navigating, starts as car no 22 in his Subaru Impreza, on what will be his first competitive outing of 2014, while Duns father and daughter team Garry and Hollie Wilson will be back in action in their EVO 5.

Clubman 2WD champions Steve Bannister of Malton and Louise Rae from Hawick will be back in action while Dumfriesshire’s Greg McKnight, who has already sealed the Junior Drivers’ title, will be looking to round-off an excellent season in his Mk2, alongside co-driving dad Greg. The pair will again go head to head in the 1600cc category with Alasdair Graham and Laura Stuart in their Vauxhall Corsa.

Kieran Renton from Leitholm, co-driven by Jedburgh’s Dave Robson, will also be looking for a strong finish in the 1600cc class, while the 2013 Junior Champion Callum Atkinson from Lauder will compete in his Ford Fiest ST.