Redfearn on cue for his tenth Tillside billiards singles title

editorial image

Ed Redfearn of Milfield won the Tillside Billiards League individual championship for the tenth time when he defeated team-mate Doug McGregor in the final, which was played off at Kelso Royal British Legion club.

Redfearn was in scintilating form, with breaks of 29, 31 and 32 and quickly set the pace to lead 153-55 at the half-way stage.

However, McGregor staged a creditable fight-back in the latter stages and with breaks of 27 and 20 he scored a further 182 points before Redfearn deservedly claimed the title with a score of 300-255.

In the semi-finals of the handicap championship, Redfearn was again in fine form, reeling off a string of breaks, including a 48, to overcome his -160 handicap to beat Kevin Stanwix by a 100-56 scoreline.

This was Kevin’s first season in the league and he did remarkably well to reach the semi-finals.

The final was a repeat of the individual championship against McGregor (-140) and once again Redfearn soeared into the lead with breaks of 33, 26 and 40.

But then the game took a dramatic turn when McGregor unexpectedly conceded, gifting Redfearn his second title of the evening.

The remaining honours of the season were:

League champions - Milfield, runners-up Crookham A; Handicap League winners - Crookham A, runners-up Tillmouth; League Cup winners - Tillmouth, runners-up Crookham A.

Highest break - Ed Redfearn and Alan Lyall both with 47, but winner was Redfearn as his break was unfinished; Highest aggregate - Doug McGregor (100 per cent);