Patterson and Aitchison hit centuries for Warenford and Wooler

editorial image

Berwick’s good start to the season continued when they beat Clara Vale by 79 runs in the Northumberland Premier League.

With Lee Mark hitting 46 and Anthony Murray 39, the Pier Field side posted 146 all out.

Sadiq Amin was the main wicket-taker for Clara vale, finishing with figures of 5-24.

In reply, the visitors struggled, with only two bats making double figures - both on 14 - and they were reduced to 67-9 with Steven Emery claiming 5-20 for the hosts.

Tillside 1sts got back to winning ways with a narrow 10-run victory over Blyth.

With ian Sim hitting a late 79 to rescue the innings, Tillside posted 166, with Cameron McGregor weighing in with 31.

Two of the visiting bowlers - David Ebdale and Surj Singh - claimed three wickets apiece.

Andy Clark hit 60 as Blyth tried to run down their target, with Mark Lawrence adding 27.But with Alan Hindmarsh taking 4-23 and Craig Robertson 3-24, the visitors came up just short.

In Division 1, Berwick 2nds went down by five wickets at Civil Service.

Iain Thomson hit 69 and Jordan Woodcock 27 not out for Berwick. Rory Hindhaugh and Richard Farish both hit 26, the latter being not out as they reached 190-6 in their 50 overs.

But Nikhil Bharti hit an unbeaten century for the home side as they passed their target at 192-5, with Mark Woodcock and Farish taking two wickets apiece.

In Division 2, Warenford continued their unbeaten start to the season with a 79 run away victory over Bomarsund.

Daniel Patterson hit 122, Kevin Thompson 48 and Brian Thompson 38 as Waren set a target of 243-3.

Bomarsund made a valient attempt, with Dan Robinson on 62 not out and Adam McTaggart on 43, but time was against them and at the end of their 40 overs they were still some way short at 164-4.

In Division 3 Wooler won by 156 runs away to Monkseaton.

Andrew Aitchison hit 116 not out and Les Poerteous 80 as the Glendale side posted 238-3.

Monkseaton then struggled to make 84, being all out in the 25th over with Angus Todd and Colin James taking two wickets apiece.