Jim Clark Rally weekend has both quantity and quality

Osian Pryce/Iestyn Williams - Citroen DS3
Osian Pryce/Iestyn Williams - Citroen DS3

The entry list for this year’s Jim Clark Rally (May 30-June 1) has now closed and has posed quite a headache for the organising team.

It’s not just the quantity, it’s the quality.

To date, the organisers have received 29 entries from the MSA British Rally Championship competition for the Friday/Saturday event, and a huge 94 entries for the National event from the REIS MSA Asphalt Rally Championship. Sunday’s Jim Clark Reivers Rally has also received a massive 125 entries from the ARR Craib Scottish Championship and the BLUE Scottish Tarmack Rally series. Providing the icing on the cake are 11 entries for the Historic Rally while a host of other regional championships are represented.

No doubt there will be a few stragglers still to come, but the size of the task facing the organisers is enormous. They have to ‘seed’ the crews in their starting order. Faster cars and crews traditionally run ahead of the smaller capacity cars and the less experienced competitors.

Entries received include British Championship first round winner Osian Pryce from Wales with Northern Ireland’s Daniel McKenna who finished second to Pryce on the opening round. Ireland’s David Carney finished third and all three have entered similar Citroen DS3 R3Ts.

The top three in this year’s REIS Asphalt Championship after two rounds have all entered too, Manchester’s Steve Simpson in his Subaru Impreza WRC, Blackburn’s John Stone in his Skoda Fabia WRC and Lancaster’s Darren Atkinson in his new Ford Fiesta. Reigning National Asphalt Champion, Hereford’s Damian Cole has also entered his Ford Focus WRC.

Sunday’s Reivers Rally has attracted all the front runners from the ARR Craib Scottish National series including current leader after three rounds, top local hope Euan Thorburn from Duns in his Ford Focus WRC. Second placed Quintin Milne (Aberdeen) could be a late entry as he has just acquired a new car and third placed Barry Groundwater (Stonehaven) will start in his Mitsubishi Lancer.

Seeding them in order of ‘anticipated performance’ will become all the more difficult when adding ‘wild card’ entries such as Andy Fenwick from Gateshead who has entered his new Super2000 Volkswagen Polo, John Indri has a new Subaru Impreza WRC and, there is five times Scottish Rally Champion David Bogie entered in a .... ? We’ll just have to wait and see on that one!