Isats sweeps to victory in Wheelers’ 25-miler

Berwick Wheelers
Berwick Wheelers
Share this article

The final standard distance championship of the season saw Chris Isats in great form to take the win in all four categories.

He managed to post a time of 56 minutes 24 seconds, good enough to win the overall, veterans, standard and handicap titles for the 25 miler.

After tying for first place last week Andrew Beeke and Doug Slater battled it out for the silver with Doug eventually pipping his rival by just two seconds.

Andrew Scorey was on schedule to take the silver but he suffered bad luck in the form of a puncture six miles from the finish.

In the ladies race Joyce Mark retained he title and Wanda Field finally got the better of Gill Caine in a championship event, posting an excellent 1 hr 11 minutes and 32 secs.

Chris followed his winning rides at club level and posted a new club veterans 50 mile record at the weekend in the Otley CC open event in North Yorkshire, his ride was also good enough for sixthth place overall.

Club 25 results: C Isats 56.24, D Slater 1.2.33, A Beeke 1.2.35, A Fletcher 1.2.45, S Rowley 1.4.13, G Johnston 1.4.24, G Simpson 1.4.37, G Smith 1.4.40, J Mark L 1.7.46, P Blythe 1.8.19, J Blythe 1.8.30, N Cruikshanks 1.9.15, W Field L 1.11.32, G Caine L 1.12.48, M Highfield L 1.21.18, A Scorey DNF.