Fuller wins junior Classic at Earlston

Archie Fuller winner of the 150mtr junior classic
Archie Fuller winner of the 150mtr junior classic
Share this article

Health and fitness student Charlie Carstairs put in a grade-A show to take the Champion of Champions 150m Classic title.

A large crowd witnessed the 19-year-old from Lasswade claim the £500 first prize at Earlston High School’s six-lane grass running track.

Victory in the junior 150m went the way of nine-year-old Archie Fuller of Chirnside who once again demonstrated strong front running, and the youths’ 150m was won by the ever-improving Philippa Robertson to give her a memorable double victory, having earlier won the 120m.

BA Classic results: 120 metres Junior – 1, J. Goodfellow (Jed AC); 2, A. Simpson (TLJT); 3, T. Fowler (Hawick). 15.32 seconds. 120m Youth – 1, P, Robertson (TLJT); 2, K. Browne (Gala Harriers); 3, D. Elliot (Hawick). 13.31. 120m Senior – 1, E. Pettigrew (Kelso); 2, Billy Martin (Glenrothes); 3, K. Turner (Dalkeith). 12.82.

1,500m Youth – 1, R. Britton (Leithenburn); 2, J. Brown (Gala Harriers); 3, H. Fuller (Chirnside). 4.26.00.

150m Senior – 1, A. Thomson (Jed AC); 2, K. Redpath (Wishaw) 4.07.75.

60m Junior – 1, L. Munro (TLJT); 2, A. Fisher (Chirnside); 3, A. Simpson (TLJT). 8.07. 60m Youth – 1, K. Browne (Gala Harriers); 2, E. Lowther (TLJT); R. Wicks (Leithenburn). 7.18. 60m Senior – 1, H. MacKay (Jed AC); 2, M. Shiel (Hawick); 3, M. Douglas (Jed AC). 6.54.

1,200m Classic Youth/Junior – 1, J. Agnew (Gala Harriers); 2, J. Amos (Jed AC); 3, T. Otton (Gala Harriers). 3.09.34. 1,200m Classic Senior – 1, A. Craig (TLJT); 2, B. Smith (EAC); 3, J. Thomson (Coaltown). 3.08.69.

150m Classic Junior – 1, A. Fuller (Chirnside); 2, B. Cowan (Jed AC); 3, C. Clamp (TLJT). 19.81. 150m Classic Youth – 1, P. Robertson (TLJT); 2, D. Elliot (Hawick); 3, C. Fisher (Jed AC). 17.62. 150m Classic Senior – 1, C. Carstairs (Lasswade); 2, T. Finkle (TLJT); 3, C. Grieve (Jed AC). 15.42.

After a 26-year absence, Lauder Games returned on Sunday and a crowd of around 300 witnessed Kelso teenager Euan Pettigrew, in his first season as a senior, win from Mhairi Henderson of TLJT in the 200m, while also claiming the 90m crown.