Coyle grabs last-gasp winner on Coldstream debut

editorial image

COLDSTREAM 1, HERIOT-WATT UNIVERSITY 0: A goal in the fourth minute of injury time from new signing Stuart Coyle got Coldstream’s season off to a winning start.

The striker, one of nine players recruited from Eyemouth United in the summer, came on as a substitute midway through the second half and made his mark with the winning goal on his debut just 30 seconds before the full-time whistle was blown.

With a 0-0 draw looking the most likely outcome in this East of Scotland Qualifying League Group C tie, Coyle found space in the box to head John Crawford’s cross into the net from six yards. The goal came so late in the day that Heriot-Watt University had no time to respond.

With two more Premier Division teams, Spartans and Vale of Leithen, also in the group, Coldstream will have their work cut out to qualify. But starting the season with a victory over Premier Division opponents certainly bodes well for manager Andrew Gibson and his bolstered squad.

With many of the new boys unavailable, Josh Hebdon, Jonny Simpson and Gary Wales were the only three of nine players signed from Eyemouth to start this match. The rest of the starting XI were all at the club last season, and the continuity seemed to help.

Streamers gave as good as they got in an evenly-contested first half in which chances were few and far between.

The home side had more possession shooting towards the clubhouse in the second period, but the visitors had more chances on the counter-attack.

David Myatt smacked the bar twice from the edge of the box, but the best chance fell to Jamie Forsyth in the 85th minute when the ball was cut-back to him from the byline. Unmarked just in front of the penalty spot, he leaned back at the crucial moment to scoop his shot over the bar.

It was a huge let-off for Coldstream, but they made Heriot-Watt pay the price for passing up such a golden chance.

Coldstream: M Walters, J McLeod, M Simpson, M Allan, M Cornish, M Tait, G Wales (C Heugh 72), J Hebdon (G McCrudden 82), J Crawford, J Simpson (S Coyle 70), K Neill. Subs not used: R Baxendale, D Cornish.