Border Trophy success for Wheelers

The Berwick Wheelers travelled to Galashiels on Wednesday for the final round of The Border Trophy.

Windy and warm conditions saw a huge turnout of nearly 60 riders with Berwick having its best turn out so far with 14 racers.

A fantastic effort from the whole squad saw Berwick lift the Trophy by over four minutes from Kelso with Gala in third, the overall result was all the more impressive as Berwick had only been able to field a shortened team in the first round and at that point trailed Kelso by over seven minutes.

Harry Armstrong took the win on the night in 21.44, the other nine team counters all came in at under 25 minutes, even the non-scoring team members recorded excellent times, with the standout ride being Neil Cruickshanks 25.59, beating his previous persdonal best, set at the previous round, by well over a minute.

Next night saw a return to club racing with the fourth round of the time trial league taking place on the Fishwick course.

It was damp and windy as the riders started the race, but that didn’t reflect on the times of many, as there were five personal bests and a fair few seasons bests as well.

The league scoring was incredibly tight apart from Jim Blythe who took the 10 points by a big margin, the next few riders were covered by only a few seconds with Paul Trotter taking second and Brian Lindsay third.

The league is now really hotting up with Andrew Scorey pulling away on 31points from a small group of riders led by Chris Isats on 26 then Neil Wilson and George Johnston both on 23 points.

Brian was fastest on the night in 23.44 followed by Andrew Scorey with a 24.03 and Steve Rowley on 24.14. Joyce Mark returned from her recent win at the European Triathlon Championships to take set a Ladies course record in 26.47.

Neil Wilson travelled to Teeside on Sunday to ride on last year’s National Championship 25 course.

Despite less than favourable conditions Neil set a new PB by nearly two minutes recording 1:01:51 for the 25 miles and winning the handicap race by over two mins.

This week sees the club hold its 25 mile Championship, riders meet at Hutton crossroads at 6.30 for a 7pm start.

Club 10 results: B, Lindsay 23.44, A. Scorey 24.03, S. Rowley 24.14, N. Wilson 24.36, A. Beeke 24.43, A. Fletcher 24.44, D. Robertson 24.50, G. Johnston 24.54, J. Mark (L) 26.47, K. Haldane (L) 27.05 PB, P. Blythe 27.16, D. Ginn 27.20, P. Trotter 27.25 PB, J. Blythe 28.20 PB, G. Caine (L) 29.07 PB, L. Edward (L) 32.13 PB

Eleven Auchencrow Thistle Cycling Club riders turned out on Tuesday evening for the third round of the club’s King of the Mountains competition.

With the weather being kind, there was some good racing had by all competitors.

Competitors started out at Mount Pleasant and headed out to Birgham for the first of three climbs up to Eccles. The second climb was from Hassington to Old Greenlaw and the last was up Greenlaw Dean.

Over the three climbs Neil Milton finished first with four points, Donald Smith and Iain Stark tied for second place with seven points each, Don Smith was in fourth place with 14 points, Jane Holmes was fifth with 17 points.

Robbie Mitchell and Mike Horne were sixth equal with 18 points each, Duncan Martin was eighth with 26 points, Grieg Moor was ninth with 26 points.

Devrum Turkay was 10th with 30 points and Anne White was 11th with 33 points.

Neil Milton and Donald Smith took part in the Braw Lads Baw Breaker Sportif on Saturday.

With very unpleasant weather conditions and some long hard climbs on the 111 mile route, which started at Galashiels and went out to Innerliethen and Stow.

Then it was on to Earlston and up to Scotts View, then to Eckford, Hownam, Jedburgh, Lanton, Denholm, Dingleton Hill, Melrose and back to Galashiels.

Neil and Donald finished sixth and seventh respectively, with and average speed of 17.2 mph and a time of six hours 59 minutes.

This was a very good performance for both these riders.