Ayton are edged out in top ten semi-finals

Share this article

The semi-finals of the Border Top Ten bowls championships were staged on the Gala Abbotsford and Waverley greens on Saturday.

The match between Wilton and Ayton on the first named green was a real nail biter with the match being decided by the last bowl of the triples match, prior to that Alan Brady defeated Stuart Bebbington by 21 shots to 16 in the single-hand; the pairs was won by Paul Wilson and Robert Kerr (skip) Ayton who defeated Stuart Anderson and Reece Taylor (skip) by 19 shots to 18.

The fours was won by the Ayton squad of Aaron Kerr, Ted Bradshaw, Sofi O’Mara and Mark Robertson (skip) who triumphed by 20 shots to 12 over Bruce Millar, Duncan Macdougall, Andrew Kyle and Colin Sutherland (skip). Last game to be completed was the triples game between Jock Elliot, David Reid and Graham Brownlee (skip) Wilton and G. McLean, Daniel Tait and David Kerr (skip), with the last end to be played the game was tied on four points and level on shots and with only one bowl to play by Brownlee the Ayton team were lying the shot to win the game.

However, the Wilton skip played up and with the advantage of a rub against another bowl he came through to the jack to lie the shot and secure an overall win for Wilton winning his match by 16 shots to 12.

The semi final between the Abbotsford Club and Kelso was also tied on four points each but it was the Kelso side who won on shots as they were 18 up. In the single-hand Tom Newall defeated Alister White by 21-18; in the pairs Gavin Brown and Stuart White (skip) won by 16 shots to six over Gary Bowers and Ecky Hancock (skip); the fours match was won by Jackie Hardie, Graham Prentice, Kenny Johnstone and Keith Campbell (skip) who defeated Gordon Brown, Robert Purdie, Ronnie Paxton and Dennis Poloczek (skip) by 31 shots to 14; the triples game went the way of the Abbotsford side of Alan Howlieson, John Manczak and Colin Hancock (skip) who won against Bruce Woodcock, Bill Scott and Greg Frogley (skip) Kelso.

In the final at Melrose Wilton defeat Kelso 6-2. Border Bowling Association president Jim Cumming presented the awards.