Andersen and Bjerre in for GPQ

editorial image
Share this article

As the countdown continues to the 2014 Speedway GP Qualifier at Berwick on June 7 another two names have been added to the list of competitors in the past week.

World Cup riders, and Elite League stars Hans Andersen - himself a four-times GP winner - and Kenneth Bjerre will represent Denmark, following their qualification from the Danish Championships last week.

They join Chris ‘Bomber’ Harris and Craig Cook (Great Britain), Australia’s Jason Doyle and Josh Grajczonek, Glasgow skipper Theo Pipjer and Mattieu Tresarrieu from France, Germany’s Tobias Kroner. Linis Sundstrom (Sweden) and Tomasz Suchanek of the Czech Republic.

Poland are due to announce their representatives over the course of the coming week.

The meeting is an official FIM event with riders aiming to qualify for the 2015 GP Series, which in effect is the world championships.

It is the second time in three years the meeting has been staged at Shielfield, and was awarded on this occasion after difficulties arose over the planned staging of the event at St Johann in Austria.

It has been confirmed the public will be permitted access to official practice on the Saturday afternoon prior to the meeting.

Doors will be open from 11.45am until 2pm, with the riders on track for one hour, from 12.30pm.