Massie retains Championship title at Duns Golf Club

ANGUS Massie retained the Duns Golf Club Championship beating Stuart Patterson in Saturday's 36-hole final.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 23rd June 2010, 12:51 pm
Updated Wednesday, 23rd June 2010, 12:51 pm

In the Stevenson Trophy for the 'B' Championship Steven Longstaff defeated Will Waddell in the final and in the 'C' Championbship final Robert Tait defeated David Stewart.

The weather held for Thursday and Friday when the quarter and semi-finals were played. Stuart Patterson, George Swanston, Wayne Ford and Angus Massie went thorough in the Championship while Ian Learmonth, Will Waddell, Allen Wheelans and Steve Longstaff went through in the Stevenson Trophy and Robert Tait, Alan Lugget, Barry Pearson and David Stewart moved into the semi-finals in the 'C' Championship.

On Friday Stuart Patterson overcame George Swanston and Wayne Ford was beaten by Angus Massie. Ian Learmonth lost to Will Waddell and Allen Wheelans lost to Steve Longstaff. Robert Tait won on the 20th hole against Alan Lugget while Barry Pearson lost to David Stewart to complete the six finalists for Saturday.

Sign up to our daily Berwickshire News Today newsletter

As the Championship final was over 36 holes, Stuart and Angus played the first 18 holes in the morning when Angus took a lead of two holes into lunch. They then led off the play in the afternoon where the match finished at the 14th with Angus winning the Cup.

The Stevenson did not go beyond the 15th where Steve Longstaff won the Trophy while the 'C' Championship finished at the 16th where Robert Tait emerged as winner.

The finals of the Ladies' Championship and Collin trophy was held in very blustery conditions.

In the Championship final Anne Wood defeated Katie Massie while in the Collin Trophy final Margaret Gotterson was the winner beating Helen Ainslie in the final.

Results from the quarter-finals were:

Championship - Kirsty Inkpen beat Ronny Paterson, Anne Wood beat Rae Baxter, Katie Massie beat Jane McDevitt, Eileen Preston beat Molly Hodges.

Semi-final - Anne Wood beat Kirsty Inkpen, Katie Massie beat Eileen Preston.

Final - Anne Wood beat Katie Massie.

Collin Trophy - Morag Millar beat Ingrid Swan, Helen Ainslie beat Diane Johnston, Lorraine Tait beat Jill Hodge, Margaret Gotterson beat Morven Stone.

Semi-finals - Helen Ainslie beat Morag Millar, Margaret Gotterson beat Lorraine Tait.

Final - Margaret Gotterson beat Helen Ainslie.

Michael Thomson is the 2010 junior champion after beating Paul Liddell in the final.

On the way to the final Michael beat Fraser Wood while Paul saw off the challenge of young Lewis Craik.