Magnificent sevens victory as Colts win their second tournament at Gala

editorial image

Duns Colts claimed their second trophy of this seasons 7s circuit at Gala on Saturday, to add to their win at Melrose at the start of the season.

After reaching the semi finals at Kelso and Hawick in the two previous tournaments, the Colts finally showed that they could go the distance.

Kelso Harlequins were their opponents in the first round and tries from Bert Grigg, Andrew Baxter, Iain Sim and Lewis Hughes saw them win 22-12, Stuart Thomson converting one try.

Next up were Edinburgh BATs whose pacy winger caused some problems but tries from Hughes, Baxter and Jamie Thompson and two conversions from Thomson saw them edge through 19-17.

The semi final was a repeat of last week’s semi against Gala Wanderers, when the Colts lost 19-17, but this week the Dingers were out for revenge and tries from Tom Wilson, Baxter, Thomson and Grigg were enough to see them through to the final, winning 20-7.

Duns’ opponents in the final were Selkirk Youth Club who had some very high scores in the previous rounds, but struggled against Berwick in their semi final. Daniel Hughes opened the scoring for Duns after a gap opened in front of him and he sprinted in from the 22, Thomson converted, but Selkirk hit back to score under the posts but missed the conversion.

Sim increased the lead for Duns after he out-paced the defence out wide, and Thomson converted. Youth Club hit back with two tries before half time, but with both conversions missed, turned round 15-14 up.

Baxter opened the scoring in the second half when he out-paced the defence out wide and ran in to score under the posts.

Selkirk were now tiring and the defence was beginning to show gaps, one of which opened up in front of Sim and he went on to round the sweeper to score. Wilson and Daniel Hughes added two further tries to bring the final score to 38-15.

This was a great performance by the Dingers, who have to thank Gala players, Mark and Rex, who came into the squad for the final after injuries to Ross Turner and Grigg saw them miss out on the final. Tom Wilson picked up the Player of the Tournament trophy.

Duns Colts: Iain Sim, Bert Grigg, Daniel Hughes, Tom Wilson, Stuart Thomson, Ross Turner, Andrew Baxter, Lewis Hughes, Steve Crawford and Jamie Thompson.