Extra-time win in Anderson Cup tie

editorial image
Share this article

Alnmouth United and Tweedmouth Rangers played out a very evenly contested Anderson Cup tie and it took extra time for the teams to find a winner.

It was 0-0 after 90 minutes, but an own goal in extra-time gave Tweedmouth the lead. The lead was extended in the second period when Craig Howard scored direct from a corner.

In the first division Wansbeck won 5-2 at home to Lowick United. Wansbeck’s goals came from Dean Short and Michael Freathy with two each and Stephen Armstrong. Lowick’s consolation goals came from Brian Blackburn and Matthew Tait.

Red Row Welfare won 3-1 at Bamburgh. Sean Palmer hit two and Max Anderson one, whilst Bamburgh goal came from Jonny Johnston.

Highfields United and Rothbury played out an entertaining 3-3 draw.

Rothbury, with two finishes from Chris Coe and Craig Sutton, went in two up at the break. Highfield rallied early and goals from Simon Hargreaves and David Blackhall saw the home side level within ten minutes of the restart.

United then took the lead after 65 minutes through Ryan Wedderburn but Rothbury grabbed a point with ten minutes to go with an own goal from Adam Rutherford.

Belford continue to lead the way in Division Two with a 6-0 win away to Lynemouth. Three goals in each half saw Belford win with Ross Moore netting four, Ryan Lillico and Mark Dunlop also on target.

Second placed Springhill drew 3-3 against Craster with the away side being in the lead three times. The home side scorers were Richie Green, Dave Ainsworth and Michael Antcliffe.

Tweedmouth Harrow beat Alnmouth 7-0. The Harrow’s goals came from Terry James with four, Craig Anderson with two and Nick Moor.

Wooler Reserves took the points with a 3-2 injury time winner from James Carter against Embleton. James Straughan and Sam Cowens had netted earlier for the Glendale side.