East of Scotland League reduced to 17 clubs

East of Scotland Football League
East of Scotland Football League

The East of Scotland League will still be played over two divisions next season, despite being reduced to just 17 member clubs.

The decision was made by member clubs following Hibernian’s resignation at the annual general meeting last night.

An application from Lowland League Selkirk to admit their second team was rejected.

The new Premier Division will consist of nine teams, who will play each other three times. That will make a total of 24 matches.

The First Division will have only eight teams. They will play each other four times, making 28 matches.



Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale

Stirling University EOS



Spartans EOS

Leith Athletic


Civil Service Strollers


Heriot-Watt University

Easthouses Lily

Peebles Rovers

Kelso United

Burntisland Shipyard

Hawick Royal Albert



Eyemouth United


The resignation of what was a Hibs U-20 team followed the expected departures of Berwick Rangers and Edinburgh University. The students have been accepted into the Lowland League.

The season will begin on August 2 with the East of Scotland Qualifying League, which will be reduced to five sections of three or four clubs. The King Cup will be restricted to East of Scotland League clubs only, with the Lowland League clubs pulling out.

Fixtures for the start of the new season are expected to be announced on Thursday when draws for the other cup competitions will also be made.

A league spokesperson said “At our AGM we were advised that Hibernian would not continue playing in the league next season. The board had to make a decision on the structure for next season, as we need to start getting fixtures organised.

“I am confident that the structure we have and the fixture arrangements that have been put in place will ensure that maintain a competitive standard of football in the East of Scotland”.



Premier Division (9 teams playing each other 3 times)

First Division (8 teams playing each other 4 times)

EoS Qualifying League (5 sections of 3 or 4 clubs)

EoS League Cup (knockout, involving 8 clubs to emerge from the Qualifying League)

King Cup (knockout, all 17 EoSFL clubs)

EoS Qualifying Cup (knockout, all 17 EoSFL clubs plus 10 EoSFA members from the Lowland League)

City Cup (one final: winners of the EoS Qualifying Cup v Berwick Rangers)

South Challenge Cup (knockout, all 17 EoSFL clubs, plus all Lowland League and South of Scotland League clubs)

Scottish Cup (knockout, entered by SFA members only: Hawick RA, Burntisland, Coldstream and CS Strollers from EoSFL)

►Alex Jack Cup (knockout, for 13 non-SFA members of EoSFL and 2 non-SFA members of Lowland League)