21 teams to play in two divisions in East of Scotland


The East of Scotland League will kick off their new season on Saturday, August 10 with 21 teams competing over two divisions.

An Extraordinary General Meeting was held last Thursday (June 27) so that member clubs could agree the structure for next season when it was decided ten teams will compete in the Premier League and 11 in the First division.

Of the local sides, Coldstream, who won promotion last season, will play in the Premier, with Berwick Rangers Reserves, Eyemouth United and Duns all in the First.

League chairperson Tom Allison said: “I am delighted that the member clubs have voted in favour of the proposals put forward. Its been a difficult few weeks with much speculation about what was happening and how many teams would be competing in the East of Scotland Football League next season.

“The introduction of the Scottish Lowland Football League was only agreed a few weeks ago and since then we have had various discussions about how the East of Scotland League should be structured.

“Although members of clubs have joined the Lowland League this does not mean that they should not play in our league, it’s the club that is a member and not the team.”

Allison added, “We will look forward to the new season and of course this year we have Hibs competing in the First Division.”

The make-up of the two divisions will be as follows:

Premier Division

Civil Service Strollers FC

Coldstream FC

Craigroyston FC

Edinburgh City FC

Edinburgh University FC

Heriot-Watt University

Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale FC

Spartans FC

Stirling University FC

Tynecastle FC

First Division:

Berwick Rangers FC

Burntisland Shipyard FC

Duns FC

Easthouses Lily FC

Eyemouth United FC

Kelso United FC

Leith Athletic

Ormiston FC

Peebles Rovers FC

Hawick Royal Albert FC

Hibernian FC