Five local players named in EOS Select

An East of Scotland League Select side will play a match against Lothian and Edinburgh Amateur Football Association next weekend.

Tuesday, 7th January 2014, 9:27 am

The game will be played at Ainslie Park on Sunday, January 12 with a 3pm kick-off and newly appointed EOSFL manager Gary Aitchison has named a squad which includes several local players.

They include three from Premier Division side Coldstream and two from First Division Duns.

Speaking after his inaugural squad announcement, Aitchison said: “It’s been a difficult task due to the geographical location of all the teams, once we had seen every team the hard work started. There are so many good players in the league it caused a real headache deciding on a final squad.

“The enthusiasm shown by the players who have been selected has created a real buzz, so many of them are really looking forward to training session later this month.”

Aitchison added: “This is the first squad that we have selected for this game, there will be plenty of opportunities for other players to be selected for future games.”

East of Scotland Football League chairperson Tom Allison said: “This will be Gary’s first game in charge and so far we have been very impressed with his work ethic and he has some great ideas that we will implement as we go forward.”

EOSFL Select squad:

Stuart Burnside, Craig Dickson, John Dunn, David Jeffery (all Craigroyston), Gary Black, Kenny Hall, Chris Barrie (all Leith Athletic), Kevin Brown, Ousman See (both Tynecastle), John Crawford, Kieran Ainsle, Mark Walters (all Coldstream), Lee Walker, Mark Weatherburn (both Duns), Ian Ballantyne, Lukasz Rusin (both Spartans), Elliot Sutcliffe (Stirling University), John Williams, Callum Connelly, Craig Stevenson (all Lothian Thistle).