Dingers end their season on a high at Easthouses

Easthouse Lily MW 0

Duns 4

Duns finished their first season back in the East of Scotland League on a high when they comfortably defeated Easthouses Lily on Saturday.

Two goals each from Gary Waddell and Mark Weatherburn secured the points in what turned out to be a rather one-sided affair, especially in the second half.

Both teams were slow to settle but as the game progressed it was Duns who looked the more threatening in front of goal.

The breakthrough eventually came when James Robertson did well to put Garry Waddell through and he slammed the ball past the Easthouses keeper.

At the other end Lumsden had to look lively when Easthouses broke and he did well to save a shot with his feet.

The game again slowed down and developed into a rather dour struggle but Easthouses never really threatened Duns.

In the second half Duns took a grip of the game and it was not long before they doubled their lead. Mark Weatherburn knocked a clever ball over the top of the Easthouses defence and Waddell was on hand to roll the ball into the net past the advancing keeper.

Waddell’s scoring prowess during the second half of the season has been a revelation for the Dingers and the young striker looks to be getting more confident in front of goal with every game.

It was all Duns now and it came as no real surprise when they made it 3-0. This time it was Weatherburn who scored with a clever header from Michael Stewart’s pinpoint cross.

Minutes later Weatherburn grabbed his secopnd goal, of the game when the ball broke to him in a tackle and he made no mistake in rifling his shot past the keeper.

Duns could have added to their score but Grant Keenan and Bruce Chisholm both mised glorious chances.

This was a fine all round team performance by Duns who have finished in sixth place in the league.

Duns: Scott Lumsden, Garry Renton, Stevie McHoul, Douglas Brydon, Ryan Burns, Grant Keenan, Michael Stewart, James Robertson, Kieran Lee, Gary Waddell, Mark Weatherburn. Subs: Bruce Chisholm (60), Mark Dixon (80), Sean Robertson (75).