Five out of five for Cox in Curfew Run

The 20th anniversary of the Curfew Run took place last Wednesday with TV presenter Jeremy Paxman firing the starting pistol.

Tuesday, 12th July 2016, 3:20 pm
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 4:21 pm
Berwick Curfew Run 2016 Winner Nathan Cox Picture by Jane Coltman

Tweed Striders took over this event in 2014 from Berwick Harriers and, under their stewardship along with continued sponsorship from Simpsons Malt, it is going from strength to strength judging by the number of runners and spectators present, plus the evident enjoyment of all.

For the second successive year the traditional Curfew Run at 8pm was preceded, half an hour earlier, by the Curfew Fun Run.

Online entry for this was at capacity before the evening, with only a few places becoming available due to some entering the wrong race by mistake, so it was a full complement of 150 runners of all ages who lined up to await Jeremy Paxman firing the starting pistol - as luck would have it, Jeremy was in Berwick that day to film a programme on the River Tweed for More4.

In order to preserve the integrity and ethos of this race it was not timed but that did not deter Gregor Collins of Gala Harriers from flying round the course to take the trophy for first junior boy.Winner of the trophy for first junior girl was Ellie Henderson of Alnwick Harriers.

The host club was represented in the Curfew Fun Run by Chloe Armstrong; Stuart, Louise, Alisha and Sophie Black; Deborah, Cerys and Finlay Bowden; Gill Brownlie, her daughter Gemma and grandchildren, Archie, Brodie and Rowan; Lily and Sean Capes; Isla and Ollie Deans; Charlie Etherington; Helen and Abigail Huntly; Chloe McLeary; Claire Moore; Sam Morris; Louisa Palmer; Katie Thompson; Liz and Samuel Vassie.

Eighty-three runners lined up on the Curfew Run start line and, with Nathan Cox and Melanie Ellis ceossing the line as first senior man and first senior lady in 6.29 and 8.20 respectively, it was a one-two for the Striders.

The trophies for first junior male and first junior female went to Fraser Gorvett and Callie Henderson (Alnwick Harriers) who finished in 6.53 and 8.02 respectively.

Tweed Striders taking spots in the top 20 were Paul Trotter (6th 7.22), Martin McCleary (11th 7.51), Will Davidson (12th 7.51), Rick Davie (16th 8.01) and Richard Cox (20th 8.15).

Also running were Tweed Striders Rod Smith (8.32), William Smith (8.34), Mike Bell (8.35), Andrew Mavin (9.23), Vicky Smith (9.33), Callum Thompson (9.59), Nadine Karolewski (10.03), Freya Deans (10.17), Susan Rutherford (10.19), Claire Etherington (10.24), Derek Lambert (10.43), Keighley Walton (11.34), Laura Walton (11.48), Dorothy Farragher (11.55), Nicola Foggon (11.56), Jenny Robinson (12.00), Ruth Letham (12.17), Tyler Winson (12.27), Morven MacKinnon (12.29), Kirsty Wilson (12.31), Sara Bebbington (12.44), Jim Herbert (12.48), Sarah Capes (12.50), Diane Renner (12.57), Angela Tait (13.29), Linda Lee (13.47), Lorna Patton (14.40) and Jacqueline Gray (14.40).