All roads lead to Duns for 40th Jim Clark Rally

ALL roads lead to Duns this weekend for the 40th running of the Jim Clark Rally.

Wednesday, 26th May 2010, 12:42 pm
Updated Wednesday, 26th May 2010, 12:42 pm

There will be six individual events incorporated into the weekend, with the Jim Clark International Rally the main rally - and a counting round in the 2010 Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship.

Along with the Jim Clark National, Challenge, Land Rover and Histotric rallies, the International event will be based at Kelso, but will start from Duns, while the popular Jim Clark Reivers Rally will be based in Duns.

The International and National events will have a ceremonial start in Duns at 6pm on Friday night with the high speed action through the streets of Duns starting at 7pm.

Sign up to our daily Berwickshire News Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The action goes on into the night with the International event returning to Duns at 9.12pm for a second charge round the streets.

The competitors will then park up for the night at Kelso and will restart from there at 8.30am on Saturday morning with the first of the stages being Wedderburn with the first car due at 9.30am.

All of the main British title protagonists have entered the first of the three asphalt events in the Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championship and with last year's winner Mark Higgins without a drive, it is 2009 champion Keith Cronin who leads the cars into the Berwickshire lanes in his Pirelli Tegsport Subaru Impreza.

He will be followed by Welshman Gwyndaf Evans in a Mitsubishi Lancer and one to watch out for is Craig Breen in his very rapid Ford Fiesta S2000.

Carrying hopes of a local success is Duns driver Euan Thorburn, co-driven by Paul Beaton from Inverness, in another Subaru Impreza.

Euan will be hoping his local knowledge of the tight and twisty rounds of Berwickshire will be of benefit.

Jedburgh's Dave Robson is a late call up to co-drive for Bristol's Adam Gould in the ex-Mark Higgins Impreza.

Other Borders drivers in the international event are West Linton's John Boyd in a Ford Fiesta ST and Gordon Nichol from Melrose in his Suzuki Swift Sport.

In the National Rally, which also runs over Friday and Saturday, top seed is the 2008 winner David Kynaston in an Audi 3 Quattro.

Also among the favourites for victory are Hereford's Damian Cole in a Ford Focus WRC and former winner Andy Fenwick from Birtley in a Subaru WRC.

Borders competitors are also to the fore with Jedburgh co-driver Jude Wylie on the notes for Stonehaven driver Barry Groundwater in a Mitsubishi Lancer and Duns driver Dale Robertson, co-driven by Tranent's Paul McGuire, in another Lancer.

Hawick's Martin Elsdon competes in his Lancer, the Tuer brothers, Carl and Robin, from Alnwick, are entered with their MG ZR Super 1600, and Ross Hunter, St Boswells and co-driver Eildon Hall, Jedburgh, are in action with their Honda Civic.

The Duns crew of Douglas Brydon and Dave O'Brien will be hoping for a good result in their Subaru Impreza while the Kelso crew of Kevin Dunn and Fiona Douglas are out again in their nifty Vauxhall Nova.

Earlston's Colin Reay gives his Peugeot 20516v a run while Duns driver John Cowe, co-driven by Coldstream's Colin Richardson, compete in their Ford Escort Mk2.

Duns driver Mike Horne, a former Scottish champion and a previous winner of the Jim Clark Rally, competes in his Ford Excort Mk2 with Robbie Mitchell on the notes.

Nigel and Keith Atkinson from Lauder give their Metro 6R4 an outing while Robbie Pearson from Duns is back in the driving seat, this time at the wheel of a Subaru Impreza. He will be co-driven by Ladykirk's Michael Wastling.

The only female driver in the field is Kelso's Carin Logan in her Citroen Saxo VTR, co-driven by Berwick's Christine Sanderson.

The Historic and Challenge events also run on the Friday and Saturday. The Duns crew of Walter Aitken and Jane Nicol will compete in the Historics with their Mk1 Ford Escort while Richard Simmonds of Duns co-drives for Adrian Stewart of Aberdeen in a Mini Cooper S.

Sunday's Reivers Rally, which starts from Newtown Street, Duns, at 9am, has attracted a full entry of 140,

The rally comprises of eight stages with Bothwell, Moon and Star, Blackadder and Fogo all being used twice. The rally finishes back in Duns with the first car due in Newtown Street at 4.45pm.

Dumfries driver David Bogie, co-driven by Hawick's Kevin Rae, leads the field in his MG Metro 6R4 but his biggest threat will come from Duns driver Euan Thorburn in his Subaru Impreza.

Berwick co-driver Christine Sanderson will be on the notes for Jock Armstrong from Castle Douglas in another Subaru while Hawick co-driver Louise Sutherland partners former Jim Clark Rally winner Steve Bannister from Malton in his Ford Escort.

Heriot's Ian Campbell returns with his Mitsubishi Lancer while Duns driver Dale Robertson has enetered his Mitsubishi Lancer and will be hoping all is well with the car after the rigours of the National event, as will the Duns crew of Douglas Brydon and Dave O'Brien in their Subaru Impreza.

Experienced Jedburgh co-driver Dave Robson is in the co-driver's seat for David Wilson from Allness in a Mitsubisi Lancer while Duns co-driver Doug Redpath, who won the rally back in 1984 with Dom Buckley Snr, is co-driving for Ian Paterson from Dumfries in a Subaru Impreza.

Former Scottish champion Mike Horne, co-driver by Robbie Mitchell, is another driver competing in the Reivers Rally as well as the National event.

Other Borders competitors taking part on Sunday are as follows:

Martin Elsdon (Hawick), Mitsubishi Evo 9; Gareth White (St Boswells) and Callum Atkinson (Lauder), Citroen C2 R2; Ross Hunter (St Boswells) and Eildon Hall (Jedburgh), Honda Civic; Kevin Dunn and Fiona Douglas (both Kelso), Vauxhall Nova; Allan Brodie (Tyndrum) and Cameron Fairbairn (Galashiels), Ford Escort Mk2; Des Campbell (Coldstream) and James Braithwaite (Melrose), Peugeot 206; David Hope (Wigtown) and Fiona Gourlay (Duns), Subaru Impreza; Billy Cowe (Eyemouth) and Robert Paterson (Berwick), Subaru Impreza; Garry Pearson (Duns), Peugeot 205 GTi; Sean and Iain Robson (both St Boswells), Peugeot 205 GTi; James Thomson (Melrose) and Alison Woodcock (Coldstream), Peugeot 206; Bruce Hay (Kelso) and Scott Russel (Lauder), Vauxhall Nova; Steven Irwin (Dunbar), Vauxhall Nova; Neil Thompson (Bonnyrigg) and Martyn Scott (Kelso), Vauxhall Corsa; Sarah Hunter (St Boswells) and Gary White (Melrose), Peugeot 205 GTi; Adrain Stewart (Aberdeen) and Richard Simmonds (Duns), Mini Cooper S; Donald McEwen (Wallyford) and Ellis Flemming (Duns), Citroen Saxo VTS; Michael Deans (Berwick) and John Straughan (Cornhill), Mitsubishi Colt; Jeff and Graham Malthouse (both Wooler), Peugeot 206 GTi; Trevor Longhurst (Thirsk) and Michael Johnson (Berwick), Rover 214si; Kieran and Keith Renton (both Leitholm), Ford Fiesta ST; Nick Thorne (Jedburgh) and Scott Hunter (St Boswells), Peugeot 205; Doug Logan (Duns) and Johnny Millar (Melrose), Ford Escort Mk2; Nickolas Tasker (Hawick) and Paul Wood (Jedburgh), VW Golf GTi.