Youngsters are honoured in memory of PC Karen Balfour

Winners and Nominees at the sixth annual Karen Balfour awards
Winners and Nominees at the sixth annual Karen Balfour awards

Berwickshire youngsters who have done outstanding work for the community were honoured last week at the sixth annual PC Karen Balfour awards.

This year’s ceremony, compered by former Berwickshire High School depute Alistair Christie, took place at Eyemouth High.

Specialist awards were presented to the winners of six categories, from children of primary school age to teenagers as old as 19.

The recipients of this year’s awards were Janie Orr (BHS catchment area under 19); Aaron Bolton (EHS catchment area under 19); Emma Worters (EHS Primary catchment); and Oliver Wright (BHS Primary catchment).

The Special Projects Prize was awarded to Generate Radio, and a Special Award was presented to Neil Couch.

The awards, recognising the achievements of young people locally, are held each year in memory of PC Balfour - the first Integration Police Officer for Children’s Service for Berwickshire - who was tragically killed in a road accident nearly six years ago.

Inspector Carol Wood of Duns Police Station, said: “It was an excellent night, I worked with Karen when she was here and I know what kind of person she was - she would be absolutely thrilled that this has continued in her name, recognising the youths themselves and the people that have done things to help them.”

Councillor Frances Renton, who is on the committee that chooses the winners from the nominees, said that the standard of entries was once again very high.

“As part of the team, choosing the winners was very difficult, as they are all winners in their own right and I congratulate them all,” Councillor Renton said.

“Karen was the first Integration Police Officer for Children’s Service for Berwickshire and was dedicated to working with children and young people. She had an enthusiastic and friendly manner that endeared her to the children and to all who worked with her. I’m sure Karen would have been very proud of contributions and achievements of all of those nominated for the awards.

“I would like to add my thanks and congratulations to all the nominees and to Mr Alistair Christie for being the Master of Ceremonies and keeping everything running smoothly.”

Councillor Renton said she hoped that next year the committee would have even more nominations sent to them.

John Lamont MSP for Ettrick, Roxburgh & Berwickshire also attended the awards, and thanked everyone who had made the evening possible.

He explained: “These awards honour the successes of young people in the area who have overcome hardships and difficulties as well as those who have contributed significantly to their local community.

“Last night’s winners once again served up inspirational examples of what youngsters can achieve when hard work and dedication becomes your mantra. I was particularly impressed by the calibre of 2011’s recipients and hope the awards continue to recognise the good work done by youngsters across the region.”