Vote to decide Community Council lineup

PEOPLE in Ayton are to decide who will sit on their local community council when a ballot takes place later this month, marking the first contested election in Berwickshire in a number of years.

Following a four week nomination period local residents identified 13 candidates for the 12 available seats.

The ballot will be held on Wednesday, August 22 between 4 and 8pm. Voting forms and the ballot box will be available in Ayton Community Hall during this time.

All those in the Ayton Community Council area, who are entitled to vote in a local government election on that day, will be entitled to cast a vote.

Postal voting or voting by proxy will not take place.

Poll cards will not be issued, instead local residents should present themselves between 4 and 8pm at the Community Hall in order to vote. Each voter will be entitled to 12 votes. The 12 seats will be filled by the 12 candidates with the highest number of votes.

Candidates standing for the 12 places are: Mr W Allan, Mr J Boyd, Mrs M Carey, Mr K Combe, Mr G Dolan, Mr R Noble, Mrs H Postle, Mr P Priestman, Mr N Robertson, Mr J Slater, Mr R Weatherston, Mr P Wilson, Mr I Woollen.

Returning Officer Clare Malster said: “This is very exciting and is a great indicator of the commitment Ayton residents have to the area in which they live.

“Although we have many community council elections each year, as there are 67 community council areas in the Borders, this is the first contested election since July 2011 and the first in Berwickshire for many years.

“I would encourage as many residents as possible to come along on the 22nd to show their support and vote for who they wish to represent them on their community council.”