Time to give credit to NHS Borders staff where its due

John Raine, chairman of NHS Borders.
John Raine, chairman of NHS Borders.

It’s the time of the year that NHS Borders celebrates its strongest asset – its staff – as the finalists in its Celebrating Excellence Awards are announced.

A total of 122 nominations were received, highlighting healthcare teams and individuals who have been recognised for their commitment to providing excellent services in NHS Borders.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony at Springwood Park, Kelso, on Saturday, April 29.

NHS Borders chairman John Raine said: “The Celebrating Excellence awards ceremony is an opportunity to recognise the hard work, commitment and dedication of staff and volunteers across the organisation.”


Values award: Nicky Berry, Irene Bonnar, Brenda Everitt, the telephone switchboard team.

Improving Health: Borders Healthy Living Network, Caring For Smiles team, Julie Murray, NHS Borders screening services.

Innovation and improvement: Dialysis unit, general services team, Susie McFadzen, Teviot Medical Practice with Scottish Ambulance paramedic practitioners.

Leading by Example: Janet Bennison, Irene Bonnar, Stephanie Errington, Lorraine Wilson.

Primary Care Provider: Gillian Arbuckle; Coldstream Medical Practice; Newcastleton Health Centre; George Romanes.

Rising Star: Jonathan Bridges; Rhona Hillis, Sam Laurie, Barbara Smith.

Clinical excellence: Emma Allan, Early Years Team, Alan Lawson.

Partnership working: Borders Alcohol and Drugs Partnership group, diabetes team, Joint Learning Disability Service, Morven Paterson and Karen Wilson.

Supporter of the year: Borders Hospital Radio Service, Kathleen O’Reilly, Billy Welsh, Running for Ronnie team.

Behind the scenes, clinical: Elaine Hancock, infection control team, Alan Lawson, June Patterson. Behind the scenes, non clinical: Catering team; Wilma Dunn, Donna Wheelans.

Person-centred care: Adele Dougall, Sandra Henwood, Katie Masterson, John Watt.