Borders communities help their local areas to thrive

editorial image

A total of 17 villages and towns were recognised for their work in helping to maintain the region at a ceremony at Scottish Borders Council’s Headquarters in Newtown St Boswells.

Jedburgh claimed the overall title in front of Lauder, Birgham and Ayton, who were all highly commended.

Other winners included Kelso, Melrose, Coldingham and Westruther, with special awards also given to Earlston, Eyemouth and Clovenfords.

The full list of winners were:

Champion of Champions – 1, Jedburgh; 2= Lauder, Ayton and Birgham;

Town – 1, Kelso; 2, Peebles; 3, Eyemouth;

Large Village – 1, Melrose; 2, Coldstream; 3, Chirnside;

Small Village – 1, Coldingham; 2, Greenlaw;

Wee Village – 1, Westruther; 2, Morebattle; 3, Hume;

Welcome Award – Earlston;

Quality of Life Awards – Chirnside, Jedburgh and Lauder;

Border Biodiversity Award – Eyemouth;

Clean and Tidy Award – Clovenfords.

Councillor Sandy Aitchison, SBC’s Executive Member for Neighbourhoods and Locality Services, said: “Community groups across the Scottish Borders have once again stepped up to keep their local area thriving and we must thank them for their fantastic efforts.

“We have been in discussions with various community groups throughout 2019, including at our first Spring Seminar in March, and know it has been another challenging year with more changes to our services.

“However, we believe by working together we can ensure our area retains its beauty for local people and visitors alike.

“Congratulations to all the winners of a Floral Gateway award.”