Leitholm Evergreen Club flower show

LEITHOLM Evergreen Club held their annual produce show. judges Doug Smith from Greenlaw, Jeeny Mackie and Doris Brydon from Birgham having their work cut out to select the winners.

Cup winners: Menzies Challenge Cup for ladies - Betty virtue; Menzies Challeng Cup for men - Bob Clark; Reta Jeffrey Silver Salver, most points baking - Betty McLeish; Mary Henderson Memorial Trophy, vase of mixed flowers - Betty Virtue; Nellie Hay Quaich, most entries in show - Betty Virtue; Bob Cameron Memorial Trophy for foliage plant - Betty Cockburn; Shona Rose Bowl for single rose - Betty Virtue.

Lady’s spray - Betty McLeish; gent’s buttonhole - Betty Virtue; geranium pot plant - Betty Virtue; vase of mixed flowers - Betty Virtue; foliage plant - Betty Cockburn; gladioli - Betty Cockburn; chrysanthemums - Agnes Waddell; single rose bloom - Betty Virtue; three dahlias - Betty Virtue; geranium bloom - Betty Virtue; flowering pot plant - Verna Hebdon; fuchsia pot plant - Rob Cockburn; madeira cake - Betty McLeish; plain scones - Betty McLeish; shortbread - Agnes Waddell; jam tarts - Betty McLeish; raspberry jam - Christine Thomson; marmalade - Betty Virtue; beetroot chutney - Betty McLeish; prettiest plate - Betty Cockburn; small craft article - Verna Hebdon; greetings card - Betty Virtue; lady’s knitted mitts - Betty McLeish; photo of Leitholm - Mary Whitehead; bell - Tam McLeish.

In the evening the show was open to the public when the trophies were presented by Rob Cockburn, chairperson. After coffee, Walter Gray provided the musical entertained and brough a very successful day to an end.