Just Champion The friendly Berwickshire Federation Show

editorial image
Share this article

Berwickshire SWRI Federation chairman and honorary show secretary, Linda Riddell, welcomed everyone to the Federation Show’s awards ceremony and took delight in reporting that the show had been a very friendly happy event.

The standard once again was very high, and judges were very impressed with the workmanship. One quote from a knitting judge was that she had not seen socks as good as that anywhere for a long time!

Community entries were also excellent with Grantshouse achieving a worthy first place.

Berwickshire Federation committee, honorary show secretary, assistant secretary and show convenor would like to thank everyone who contributed and helped in any way to make the show such a success.


The Barbour Cup (Institute with most points in the flower section) - Muriel Sinclair, (Cockburnspath), Wilma Craig (Eccles) and Alison Fowler 13 points.

The Crookshanks Trophy (Institute with most points in the show irrespective of membership) - Cockburnspath 181 points.

The Logan Hume Trophy (Institute with membership of 30 and over) - Cockburnspath 181 points.

The Katherine Swinton Trophy (Institute with membership between 15 - 29) – Abbey St Bathans with 91 points. The Golden Jubilee Trophy (Institute with membership 14 and under ) - Allanton,54 points. The Stevenson Trophy (Institute winning most points in handicrafts section classes 6 - 28) - Earlston, 83 points.

The Patricia Mitchell Trophy (Institute winning most points in the housewifery section classes 31 - 50a) - Chirnside, 68 points.

Eccles Jubilee Cup (Member with most points in handicrafts section) - Heather Lithgow, Abbey St Bathans 34 points.

The Fogo Cup (Individual member winning most points in housewifery) - Linda Thomson, Allanton 21 points

Lady Ramsay’s Book and Old Campus Teapot (Institute winning most points in the community section, class 29) - 1 Grantshouse 80 points; 2 Earlston, 78 points; 3 Chirnside, 74 points.

Small Community Class 30 - 1 Paxton 28½ points; 2 Chirnside 27½ points; 3 Ayton and Eccles, 27 points.

Winfield Trophy (Member with most points in the show) - Jean Garden, Chirnside 46 points. Ella Johnston Trophy (Individual winning most points in the knitting section ) – Edith Cockburn, Earlston 25 points.

Special Prize presented by Wigtownshire Federation for best entry in community section (handcraft section) - Joanne Watson, Lauder - (Tea Cosy).

Special Prize for member with most points in each section as follows: flowers - Muriel Sinclair, Cockburnspath, Wilma Craig, Eccles and Alison Fowler 13 points; needlework - Beverley Clyne, Abbey St Bathans with 14 points; crafts - Jean Garden, Chirnside with 15 points; knitting - Edith Cockburn, Earlston with 25 points; crochet – Heather Lithgow, Abbey St. Bathans with 12 points; baking - Linda Thomson, Allanton with 21 points; preserves/miscellaneous - Agnes Anderson, Chirnside with 17 points; photographs - Ruth Longmuir, Langton with 11 points.