Innerwick Flower Show exceeds all expectations

Share this article

Fingers were crossed for the sun to shine on Saturday when final preparations were being made for the 138th Innerwick Flower Show.

As always the display of fruit, flowers, vegetables, baking and crafts was first class and judges once again had a difficult job in selecting the prize winners.

“The number of exhibits, especially in the industrial section far exceeded our expectations,” commented vice-president Norma Watt, “and the range of fruit, flower and vegetables, despite the difficult growing season, was again tremendous.”

Outwith the marquee stallholders and entertainments were putting the final touches to their stalls when the rain began, just after 1pm. However, not to be deterred, gazebos, umbrellas and raincoats appeared, together with Eyemouth Pipe Band and many loyal supporters.

Opening the show, Jane Thomson, whose grandmother Mrs Mark Simpson was an avid supporter of the flower show, and whose grandfather donated the Crowhill Challenge Cup, commented on how much Innerwick Flower Show had been such a great part of her and her family’s lives.

Ms Thomson said she was thrilled so many youngsters were exhibiting alongside the regular stalwarts.

She added: “To organise and maintain such a popular show, credit and grateful thanks are due to all who make it possible.”

These thanks were further endorsed by president Kenny Milne, who as well as thanking the many individuals who kindly support and donate to the show in so many ways acknowledged and thanked the sponsors.

Trophy winners were: Challenge Cup for most points in fruit, vegetable and flower sections - Ken MacDonald; Challenge Bowl for best kept garden in local authority house - John Hogg; Suttons Cup for most points in special classes - Andrew Watt; Moffat Bowl for best exhibit in hanging basket and container section - John Crawford; Bob Denholm Salver for best exhibit in flowers - Andrew Watt; Sandy Foggo Quaich for best exhibit in vegetables - Andrew Watt; Crowhill Challenge Cup for most points in industrial section - Christina Dunlop; Gibson Cup for most points in baking - Shona Fergusson; The Smithy Cup for most points, 60 years and over - Ken MacDonald; East Lammermuir Community Council Cup for most points in High School section - Zoe Hilferty; Millennium Cup for most points in Primary School section (P1-3) - Natasha Hilferty; Presidents Cup (P4-7) - Robbie Manning; Thurston Manor Trophy for most points in pre-school section - Munro Lawrie.