Friendly event pulls in crowds at Ellemford

Ellemford show ground
Ellemford show ground

When it comes to a traditional country show there’s nowhere better than Ellemford

The rain held off at Ellemford Show, near Duns, on Saturday until everyone had retired to the beer tent, and a good day was had by all.

There were plenty of people through the gates and as usual the friendly atmosphere made for a great day with entries, as always, of a high standard in all sections of the show.


It was a good day for Martin Allman from Duns who won the Lloyds Salver for best Ford and the Elliot cup for best tractor at the show with his Ford 3000

The Rob Gourlay Cup for best grey Ferguson - J Hunter, Kelso, with his TEF20; Ancroft Tractors Bowl for best Massey Ferguson - J Cron, Duns, with his MF290; rosette best original tractor - R Gourlay, Duns, with his MF135.

Terrier Racing

Taff Memorial Trophy for the winning terrier - Alan Young with Moppet Turnbull; Memorial Trophy for the winning dog or bitch - Moppet Turnbull


Overall champions: Spottiswoode Cup for overall champion pen - A Bell, Tollishill; Swan & Kellie Cup for reserve overall champion - A Bell, Tollishill; James Coltherd Memorial Cup for shepherd bringing out overall champion - Bill Hedley; Golden Jubilee Cup for overall champion - B Hedley, Corsbie, for a greyface ewe.

Shepherds Cups: Noble Cup for the Single Blackface in the Shepherds’ Pen Class 27 - S Blaikie, Bothwell; Crichness Cup for best pen of one Blackface ewe, one gimmer and one ewe lamb - A Bell, Tollishill; 1902 Swan claret jug for best pen of one Grey Face ewe, one gimmer, one ewe lamb - B Hedley, Corsbie; Borthwick Cup for best pen of one multi-breed ewe, one gimmer, One ewe lamb - J Gilchrist, Rawburn.

Multi-breeds: Harbro Cup for Best MV multi-breed classes 1-5- Professor Penny, Crichness; David P Marshall Cup for best multi-breed in Classes 6 to 10 - Floors Farming, Rawburn.

Grey face: Longformacus Cup for best grey face pen, classes 14 to 16 - G Sinclair, Crookston; Landale Cup for best grey face in Classes 11 to 13 - B Hedley, Corsbie. Blackface: Aitken Silver Challenge Cup for best pen of three blackface ewe lambs, class 26 - Professor Penny, Bothwell; Murray Silver Challenge Cup for best Pen of three blackface ewes, class 24 - A Bell, Tollishill; T. Douglas Veitch Cup for best blackface pen, classes 24 to 26 - A Bell, Tollishill; Priestlaw Cup for best single blackface, classes 24 to 26 - A Bell, Tollishill for a blackface ewe; Pate Cup for best blackface group of ram, ewe, gimmer and ewe lamb, class 23 - A Bell, Tollishill; Tom Heatlie Challenge Cup for best blackface ewe lamb in class 22 - Professor Penny, Bothwell; A J B Spence Cup for best blackface tup lamb - A Bell, Tollishill; Ainslie Perpetual Cup for best blackface, classes 17 to 22 - A Bell, Tollishill.

Lambs: 1898 Swan Cup for best pen of lambs, class 30 - J R Whitecross, Clarabad Mill; 1899 Swan Cup for best pen of lambs, class 31 - G Sinclair, Crookston; Bank of Scotland Cup for best pen of prime lambs - J R Whitecross, Clarabad Mill.

John Scott Memorial Trophy for the winner of the young handlers - Andrew Brydon.


125th Anniversary Professor W A Penny Cup for field of a minimum of 20 suckler cows and calves - Ian Walker, Blackburn.

Industrial section

CMR butterdish (best exhibit savouries) - Sheena Thomson; CMR breadboard (best bread) - Sandra Young; Harehead Quaich (best exhibit crafts) - Philippa Chandler;

lidded jug (best painting) - Andrew Isles; Anniversary Trophy (best photograph) - Andrew Isles; Ferguson Salver (best exhibit flower section)- Jennifer Wrigley;

Marygold Cup (best exhibit vegetables) - Philip Armatage.

Muriel Milne Cup (best exhibit childrens’ section)- Debbie Harris; Eunice Elliot Cup (most points children aged 8 and over)- Rebecca Anderson; RAC Simpson Cup (most points children aged 7 and under)- Hayden Ainsley; Elliot Cup (most points adults under age 25) - Emma Armatage;

LPS Tankard (Gentlemen’s prize, most points overall, except the vegetable and stick classes)- Andrew Isles, Mark Rowley; Dickinson Cup (most points overall) - Sandra Young.

Decorative sticks: LPS Award (plain horn stick) - Allan Hay; LPS Special Award (plain wood stick) - Allan Hay; Tait Cup (novice stick) - S Mc Millan; John McGuffie Cup (fancy stick) - Allan Hay; LPS champion of champions (best stick)- Allan Hay.