Four candidates for election

editorial image

Nominations for the candidates to contest the Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire constituency in the Scottish Parliament elections have now closed.

There will be a four way contest between the four main parties: Barrie Cunning (Scottish Labour Party); Jim Hume (Scottish Liberal Democrats), John Lamont (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party) and Paul Wheelhouse (Scottish National Party).

The 2016 Scottish Parliamentary election is the first in which 16 and 17 year olds can vote, but all Borderers are being reminded that the deadline to register to vote in this election is midnight on 18 April 18.

Tracey Logan, returning officer, said: “Every election matters and you can only have your say if you are registered to vote. I would encourage everyone over 16 to register now if they haven’t already done so and to vote in the Scottish Parliamentary Election.

“If you’re not registered by 18 April you won’t be able to take part in the Scottish Parliamentary election in May, but registering is really easy to do online now at”

Anyone who will be absent for the election on Thursday, May 5, should make sure they apply for a postal or proxy vote by 5pm on Tuesday, April 19. The closing date to make a new application for a proxy vote is 5pm on Tuesday, April 26.

Application forms are available from or calling 01835 825100.