Formula 1 champion meets our own 'fast lady'

FORMER Ladies World Rally Champion, Louise Aitken-Walker of Duns, met up with new Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton at a special presentation in London last week.

Louise is one of the elite group of people to be presented with the Segrave Trophy for giving the best performance on land, air or water by a British subject and she was on hand at the RAC Club in Pall Mall, London, last week as Lewis Hamilton became the latest recipient of the trophy.

Louise Aitken-Walker, who has also been awarded the MBE, won the Segrave Trophy in 1990 in recognition of her World Rally Championship win.

She is one of the very few women to receive the trophy - the most famous 'fast lady' to receive it being national heroine Amy Johnson who won the award in 1932 as a result of her epic solo flight to Australia in a tiny Gipsy Moth plane.

The trophy was first presented in 1930 in memory of Sir Henry Segrave who was killed on Lake Windemere having just regained the world water speed record for Great Britain.

Other famous names who have been awarded the Segrave Trophy include record breakers Sir Malcolm and Donald Campbell, many World War 2 fighter aces, Concorde test pilot Brian Trubshaw and numerous motorsport stars including Sir Jackie Stewart, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Colin McRae, Barry Sheene and Sir Stirling Moss who has twice won the award and who also attended last week's presentation.