County Show had delights for old and young

Duns Show 2015. Sandy Ainslie, Linkshead Farm Cockburnspath wins the Blue Faced Gimmers prize along with the overall champion.
Duns Show 2015. Sandy Ainslie, Linkshead Farm Cockburnspath wins the Blue Faced Gimmers prize along with the overall champion.

Berwickshire County Show was a great success at the weekend, with hundreds of people watching livestock competitions.

Organiser Natalie Cormack said that the day had gone off with great success. “The weather was really good,” she said, “and that helped us have a larger attendance.

“We are very grateful for all the sponsorship, trade, entries and support received, but especially to RES UK Ltd for their main sponsorship.”

The overall Show Champion, judged by Berwickshire’s Lord Lieutenant Mrs Jeanna Swan, went to the overall champion of the sheep section, ‘G1 Oraview’, a Blue Faced Leicester ram shown by Sandy Ainslie of Linkshead, Cockburnspath. Bought at Hawes for £2,000, he was champion in his progeny show in Ireland and took a first place at Haddington Show earlier this year.

There was success in the sheep section for father and son shepherds Stuart and Chris Blaikie.

Stuart, shepherd at Professor Penny’s Bothwell, won the Blackfaced Championship with a one shear tup. By a £10,000 Blackhouse sire out of a Connachan ewe it was being shown for the first time.

Chris, shepherd at Professor Penny’s Harehead won the overall Texel Chammpionship with a shearling by a Llyfni, USA, sire out of a home bred ewe.

Elsewhere in the sheep categories Colin Cessford of Belmont Farm showed the Suffolk Champion, which had already won at Dalkeith and will be seen at Westruther Show.

The overall champion in the cattle section was an Aberdeen Angus heifer, owned by Andrew Hodge of Rulesmains Farm, Duns. ‘Rulesmains Royal Lynn’ is home bred and was also placed at both the Highland and Border Union shows.

Cattle Judge Mrs Wanda Hobbs, of Wedderlie, Gordon, praised the quality of the animals on show, saying : “Although the class was fairly small, there was some quality in the ring.”

Reserve overall went to the Multibreed champion, a Short Horn heifer, ‘Linton Priory Millicent’ owned by the Gordon Brooke Trust, Roxburgh Mains, Kelso.

Champion Charolais was ‘Thrunton Jason’, a bull owned by Ian Campbell of Thrunton, Whittingham, which also won the Charolais Championship at the Border Union Show.

Limousin Champion was ‘Rawburn Invictus’ a bull owned by John Elliot, Roxburgh Mains, Kelso.

Selected trophy winners:


Overall (R.J. Forrest Cup) - Andrew Hodge, Rulesmain, Duns; George Cormack Challenge Cup for exhibitor with most points - Andrew Hodge; Cup for champion Aberdeen Angus - Andrew Hodge; Chapman and Frearson Trophy for best opposite sex to Aberdeen Angus champion - David Lucas, Cheeklaw Elvy; Challenge Cup for champion Charolais - Ian Campbell, Thrunton, Wittingham; Cup for best Charolais bred by exhibitor - Ian Campbell; Broadmeadows Quaich for best Limousin - John Elliot, Roxburgh Mains, Kelso; Young Cup for best exhibit in Multibreed section - Gordon Brooke Trust, c/o Roxburgh mains, Kelso.


Hopes Silver Rose Bowl for blackfaced - Professor Penny, Bothwell; Miller Salver and the Derek McLain Cup for Suffolk sheep - D Laing; J D Wilson Millenium Tankard - Stewart Shaw; Northfield Bowl for Scotch Mule and Greyfaced - D Watkin; Lord Watkin Cup for Blue Leicester - Sandy Ainslie, Linkshead; Berwickshire Agricultural Association Saler for Texel (MV Accredited) - Professor Penny, Harehead; the Texel (MV Non-Acccredited) Champion was M Perring with a ram lamb; Broxmouth Perpetual Challenge Trophy for multibreed sheep (MV Accredited)- James Royan, Putton Mill; MV Non-Accredited multibreed champion was Joe Burn; Crossbred sheep champion was A & P Glennie with a ewe and pair of lambs, who also won the Greendykes Bowl for prime cross bred lambs; G E & J Meikle Perpetual Trophy for Shetland sheep (coloured) and the R K & B Rose Trophy- Kate Sharp; GE & J Meikle Perpetual Trophy and the RK & B Sharp Salver for white Shetland sheep - A Bain.

Small herd -Rachel McDonald, Low Middleton; Large herd - Andrew Rodger, Stobswood; Cattle Young Handlers - Kirsty Campbell; Sheep Young Handlers - Lucy Bell, Kelso.


Overall Pony Champion, and Lady Clementine Waring Perpetual Challenge Cup - Ava Bremner on Meadowrose Kestral; Andrew Hamilton Cup - Emma Neil on Cayberry Mickey Mouse; Mountain and Moorland Champion, and Hopelaws Cup - Jane Clark on Janet Lister’s Fergus Dubh of Mendick; Closeburn Gypsy Barron Trophy - Shirley McGregor with Sapphire Czarlite; In Hand Sports Horses Overall Champion and Overall hunter - Mrs Annie Allan with Hightime; Working Hunter Ponies Overall Champion and Glen Silver Challenge Cup - Ellie Meldrum on Sylvester 60; Donaldson Silver Salver - David Fotheringham’s Classiccolours Royal Secret; Ridden Hunters Champio and Manderston Bowl - Clive Storey on Masquerade; Silver Perp Challenge Cup (Bred in Berwickshire) - Nikki Kinghorn; Young Trophy - Gina Walker riding Ann Turnbull’s Dreamers Diamond.


Ian Peek Cup for Best Craft Exhibit Tuppence - Elaine Auld.


Overall Champion J. Hope with a Polish Hen.