Best foot forward for School Travel Awards

SBBN School Travel Award Winners 2016 SBC
SBBN School Travel Award Winners 2016 SBC

Ten Borders schools have been recognised for their efforts to encourage pupils to actively travel to school.

Scottish Borders Council’s Active School Travel Awards saw pupils from nine primaries presented with a shield for having the highest percentage of pupils who walk, cycle, scooter or ‘park and stride’ to school in their area.

The nine high schools also competed for the Secondary School Active Travel champion award.

The winners were decided using data from the National School Travel Hands Up survey, which sees every nursery and school in Scotland surveyed on their travel mode to school, with the results collated by Sustrans on behalf of the Scottish Government.

This year’s winners were: Hawick High (secondary school winner); Coldstream Primary (Berwickshire cluster winner); Eyemouth Primary (Eyemouth cluster); Glendinning Primary (Galashiels cluster); Newcastleton Primary (Hawick cluster); Ancrum Primary (Jedburgh cluster); Broomlands Primary (Kelso cluster); Walkerburn Primary (Peebles cluster); St Boswells Primary (Earlston cluster)and Knowepark Primary (Selkirk cluster).

The awards were presented by education executive member, Councillor Sandy Aitchison, who said: “There have been some innovative ideas by pupils to promote active travel in their area. These awards are a great way to encourage pupils, teachers and parents to think about how they can help us to achieve this aim.”