editorial image

The sun made a late appearance for the 141st Innerwick Flower Show on Saturday.

However, the rain did not deter everyone and loyal supporters and visitors came dressed with wellies, raincoats and umbrellas and proceeded to make the most of a wonderful day.

In her opening speech, president Norma Watt highlighted the fantastic exhibits on display in all sections from the youngest pre-school to those long standing stalwarts now in their 80s.

William Hutchison, of Thomas Sherriff whose company has also been a long supporter of Innerwick Flower Show was delighted to officially open the show.

He commented on the tremendous range and the exceptional quality of exhibits.

For a small community the parish of Innerwick certainly come together to put on a show of exceptional quality.

What makes Innerwick Flower Show even more special is the happy, and fun filled atmosphere and all those who take the time and effort not only to exhibit, but to contribute in whatever way they find possible.

Special thanks go to sponsors – Viridor Waste Management, Verdant Leisure and Vinnie the Fox, EDF Energy, Community Windpower and all those who advertised in the schedule, purchased raffle tickets or gave donations.

Each year this wonderful show grows and develops and this year was no exception. Once again Tranent Pipe Band provided a wonderful selection of music.

The popular Fun Dog Show always provides much mirth and merriment and the entire day is a great occasion for the whole family – a great family get together.

Chris Wish, the well known childrens’ entertainer, kept both children and adults amused and the stall holders provided a great choice of delights.

Trophy winners were as follows: Challenge Cup - Ken MacDonald; Challenge Bowl - John Crawford; Suttons Cup - Andrew Watt; Moffat Bowl - Linda Allan; The Bob Denholm Salver - Norma Watt; The Sandy Foggo Quaich - Andrew Watt; Crowhill Challenge Cup - Janet Demarco; Gibson Cup - Sharon Ferguson; The Smith Cup - Ken MacDonald; East Lammermuir Community Council Cup - Robbie Manning; Millennium Cup - Tabitha Macallister; President’s Cup - Heidi Cockburn; Thurston Manor Trophy - Carla Hilferty; Best exhibit in industrial section - Meg Marton; best exhibit in baking section - Sharon Ferguson.