THE King’s Own Scottish Borderers have a rich history stretching back over 300 years.
The regiment was created in Edinburgh in 1689, but moved to Berwick in 1881.
In 1887, it acquired the title of The King’s Own Scottish Borderers.
Each year, a parade is held in Berwick in memory of war heroes of the past. The event commemorates the Battle of Minden, which took place in North Germany in 1759.
Some 41,000 British and German troops lined up against 51,000 French and Saxons. Among the British forces was the 25th Regiment of Foot, which went on to become the KOSB.
The regiment was involved in British Army operations throughout the world in the 19th Century. But in 2006, the Royal Scots and KOSB battalions merged to form the 1st (Royal Scots Borderers) Battalion of the new regiment.
The KOSB flag displaying the battle regiment’s honours is currently in Edinburgh, but a decision on the final resting place of the colours will be made on December 17.